2017 Piccolo Spoleto Juried Art Exhibition

This annual juried art exhibition, on view 10am to 4pm May 27-June 11, showcases recent painting, sculpture, drawing, printmaking, and photography by South Carolina artists, presenting those artworks receiving prizes alongside a limited selection of pieces identified by the juror as meriting display. This year’s juror is artist Becca Barnet.

Becca Barnet’s work is driven by a fascination with natural history and preservation. Born in Spartanburg, SC, Becca is a graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design with a BFA in Illustration. She also attended the Missouri Taxidermy Institute where she fine-tuned her special knack and patience for taxidermy repair – from cleaning to complete mount renovations. She’s put her precision and passion for replicating textures and preserving animals into the creation of an array of museum displays including creating work for the American Museum of Natural History, the SC Aquarium and the Charleston Museum. She is currently focusing on creating exhibits and custom art installations under her company, Sisal Creative.

Included in this year’s exhibition are:

For drawing: Parker Barfield, Bob Graham, Carla Johanesmeyer, and William Johnson

For painting: Chris Bilton, Christine Bush Roman, Colleen Critcher, Dylan Critchfield-Sales, Adam Eddy, Peggy Ellis, Taylor Faulkner, Susan C. Gregory, Camela Guevara, Lynne N. Hardwick, Michael Hayes, Karyn Healey, Deborah Hill, Becky Hurwitz, Marjorie Huwa, Dana Jones, Renee Kahn, Jan Kelley, Anita Laudone, Robert Maniscalco, Doug McAbee, Bruce Nellsmith, Nancy Perry, Alex Radin, Kristen Solecki, Wilfred Spoon, Alvin Staley, Heather Thornton, Alex Waggoner, and Stephen Elliot Webb

For photography: John Aspey, Leslie Burns, Micheline Callicott, Ted Henderer, Bryan Hiott, Donna Hurt, Lynn Long, Peter Van Every, Leigh Webber, Timothy Whitfield, Christina Wozniak, and Joshua Yates

For printmaking: Greyson Smith

For sculpture: Jocelyn Chateauvert, Gena Grant, Tina Hirsig, Lou Koppel, James Lynch, Hirona Matsuda and Alan Jackson, Michaela McIntosh, Saila Milja-Smyly, Michael Morrison, Arthur Newman, Wm. Austin Norvell, Susan Perkins, Habibur Rahman, Greg Rawls, and Caren Stansell

Winners of prizes this year include:










Image: Best In Show: Gas Station Sunrise, acrylic, enamel, and gouache on wood panel, 2017, by Alex Waggoner

Image: Best Sculpture: Acrobats Horse, plexiglass and metal, 2017 by Lou Koppel

Image: Best Painting: Once Upon A Time There Were Two Sisters, watercolor, pencil, and acrylic on paper, 2017, by Anita Laudone Harley



















Image: Best Printmaking: While in Charleston, monotype on paper, 2015, by Greyson Smith

Image: Best Drawing:
Stay Here, graphite and ink, 2017, by Parker Barfield

Image: Best Photograph: Moon Walk, photograph, 2017, by Peter Van Every